Thursday, December 23, 2010

Run, run as fast as you can

Every year right after Thanksgiving I read "TheGingerbread Man" to my students. We then make a gingerbread man and take him to the cooks in the lunchroom and they cook him. When we return later the gingerbread man has made a run for it. We tried to find him but without fail, he always leaves the school before we can catch him.



Throughout the month of December we receive postcards from the kids family saying they have spotted the gingerbread man. This year he went on lots of adventures to NY, Texas, California and even Spain.

This year we had a really enthuastic "Aunt Bunny" who sent us 25 post cards. The kids were so excited to hear from her. We even received a package from her that had marshmallow gingerbread men that tasted delicous.
Finally on the last day, we make traps to try and catch the gingerbread man.

This is something that I have done for the 7 years I have taught and they kids love it every year, and so do I!!

Sunday, October 31, 2010

Halloween, Halloween what does it mean?


.....it means kids having fun.......



.......it means playing games......



........it means painting pumpkins.......


.....it means making crafts.......



......it means playing games and having so much fun!!!



Friday, October 15, 2010

Time flies...when you're busy


I recently realized that I haven't posted in a very long time.

A new school year started and with that came un-boxing and setting up the classroom, putting up bulletin boards, making name tags, designing the curriculum for the year and meeting my new students.

I truly have a great group of students this year. Of course, there are a few that like to give me a challenge. But hey, the year would be boring if they weren't in my class.

Sunday, June 13, 2010

A ticket, really?!?



Jen and I were on our way to a meeting before church today, when I was pulled over. I had no idea why, because I knew for a fact I was going under the speed limit, I had my seat belt on, and I even used my turn signal. When the officer (a woman) got to my car she said I had a break light out. She then proceeded to ask for the standard paper work and then went back to her car. As I sat there (now late for my meeting) I began to get frustrated, mad, upset, etc. I don't think that anyone should be pulled over for a light bulb going out, that you have no idea has gone out. How was I suppose to know? By the time the officer got back to me I was getting teary. She say that she was only going to give me a "Fix it ticket" and that I needed to get the light fit and then come into the police station and they would wave the fee. I took the ticket and then proceeded the two blocks to church. By this time I was full on crying. Jen got out of the car and went into the meeting, I said I would be end in a minute. I continued to cry, uncontrollably, for 45 minutes. Needless to say I never made it to the meeting, heck, I barely made it to church and I cried intermittently through all of that.

Now to back up, after the officer had given me the ticket and we were driving away Jen said to me that I should have told her thank you when she only gave me a "Fix it ticket" and not a full on ticket. So let me take a moment to say: THANK YOU officer for ruining my entire day!!

P.S. check out how she spelled brake light



Saturday, June 12, 2010

I am excited to try this! I have been wanting to create a blog for a while, but haven't found the time. I figured there is no time like the present, so here goes!!